Very very garlicky lamb steaks

Lamb isn’t cheap, we had a 30oz rump beef steak between us recently for the same cost as three lamb steaks. This is why we don’t eat lamb at home all that often. It’s a shame for two reasons, firstly I absolutely love it and two, my taste in red wine seems to be an ideal match. However I decided we were having garlic lamb chops so sent the Other Half out to buy lamb chops, thyme or rosemary and potatoes for mash. I got thyme and rosemary, lamb steaks not chops and potatoes. Bless.

This is adapted from a recipe on epicurious. Ingredients are:

Lamb chops (or steaks!)
6 garlic cloves
3 sprigs rosemary
Glug of olive oil
1tsp salt

To start with, peel the garlic and strip the rosemary leaves, throw into a blender, add salt and a good helping of olive oil. A glug is however much you think you need and for me seems to equate to roughly 1 and a half tablespoons. Blend until you have a paste like mixture.

image

Spread this mixture over the lamb chops (or steaks) and leave them to make friends for about an hour. You can start prepping any side dishes during this time, we had a buttery/creamy mash so the Other Half peeled potatoes whilst I wrote up a blog post on the previous night’s food. This done, the oven is pre-heated to Gas Mark 5 and when heated the lamb took roughly 25 minutes, check after 20 and don’t forget that cooking times will vary depending on the size of the chop(steak). Potatoes boiled whilst the lamb was cooking, and some frozen peas were the final accompliment. Well, they were supposed to be until I saw how much juice had come of the lamb and decided to make gravy.

image

I love ‘proper’ gravy, there’s nothing wrong with gravy granules if thats what you like but I tend to find I can taste the salt in made up gravy now and making gravy yourself isn’t difficult. I poured the meat juices into a pan, heated them up, added a tablespoon of flour (I use 00 flour) and mix until you have a paste. Whisk in a good glug (more than a tablespoon!) of red wine and then add stock. Simmer for 10 minutes to make sure there is no alcohol or flour taste. Et voila, home made gravy.

What would I change about this recipe? Probably less rosemary as it almost overpowered the lamb, so I think I’d stick to 1-2 sprigs in future and possibly even reduce to 4 garlic cloves. Bear in mind some of the ones I used were quite small so its probably the equivalent of 4 good size cloves anyway. There’s no danger of vampires coming near me or the Other Half today!

image

And what about the wine? I had this Cabernet Sauvignon from Naked Wines. It was perfectly nice, and did complement the lamb, but this has been in my ‘keep’ rack for two years and I’d expected it to develop and wow me a bit more than it did.

image

2 thoughts on “Very very garlicky lamb steaks

Leave thoughts, tips, tweaks and general comments here:

