Pot Roast Beef Brisket

Firstly, I completely failed to photograph this (must stop the Small Person playing on my phone and using all the battery!) but it was so delicious I wanted to write it up. Something I’ve failed at doing regularly recently but hopefully that particular corner has been turned and I’ll find some more time to devote to my blog again.

Ingredients

Joint of Beef Brisket (roughly 1.9kg)
Half bottle of red wine
300ml beef stock
3 carrots

The night before I chopped the carrots and put them in my stock pot along with the beef, stock and wine and let it marinade overnight. If you don’t have time to do this I don’t think it matters but I would recommend at least an hour or two if you can.

Pre-heat oven to Gas Mark 4 and then place the covered pot in the oven for about 3 hours.

It really was that easy. As this was Sunday dinner, I also made my Yorkshire pudding batter first thing in the morning so when the beef was taken out, I turned the oven up to Gas Mark 7 and roasted my potatoes, parsnips and cooked the Yorkshires. All the juices from the beef and wine made a great gravy, I removed the carrots with a slotted spoon and poured off the juices before adding them to a roux along with an extra splash of the red wine I’d opened to accompany the meal.

Normally I like my beef rare, but slow cooked like this the joint was fall apart tender, still with plenty of moisture and really, really tasty. Definitely one that will stay on the roast dinner rotation!

 

Leave thoughts, tips, tweaks and general comments here:

